Documentation for the project

Jul 30, 2009 at 2:11 PM
Edited Jul 30, 2009 at 2:20 PM

You guys have the makings of a fairly decent product here, BUT one thing that is severly lacking is documentation on how to use it. I have spent almost a week trying to get things to work because quite simply things are just not obvious in  how to use the product. Could you make it a task that somebody actually writes some documentation?

The getting started guide for instance is totally inadequate.

An example of what I am talking about is in the Test Setup phase. I assumed that I could use the FileCommand to move a from one folder to another folder in preparation for a test. This doesn't seem to work?

I assumed I could use FileCommand to Move a file from SourcePath to a TargetPath ? IS this wrong?

Jul 31, 2009 at 8:40 AM

Hi there

I'm no expert in SSISUnit but I've got file copying working Ok

For example, one of my tests has this setup ....

<TestSetup>
        <FileCommand operation="Copy" sourcePath="E:\Dev\VS2005\SSIS\CtaxPersonIncremental\Academy\Initial\ctacct.txt" targetPath="E:\AcademyDataLoad\ctacct.txt" />
        <FileCommand operation="Copy" sourcePath="E:\Dev\VS2005\SSIS\CtaxPersonIncremental\Academy\Initial\ctprop.txt" targetPath="E:\AcademyDataLoad\ctprop.txt" />
        <ProcessCommand process="hstart" arguments="/noconsole /wait &quot;E:\Dev\VS2005\SSIS\CTaxPersonIncremental\Unit test setup\Truncate All CTax Tables.bat&quot;" />
        <ProcessCommand process="hstart" arguments="/noconsole /wait &quot;E:\Dev\VS2005\SSIS\CTaxPersonIncremental\Unit test setup\Truncate All Person Tables.bat&quot;" />
        <ProcessCommand process="hstart" arguments="/noconsole /wait &quot;E:\Dev\VS2005\SSIS\CTaxPersonIncremental\Unit test setup\CTaxLoad standard persons.bat&quot;" />
      </TestSetup>

Cheers,

SteveC

Jul 31, 2009 at 10:03 AM

Thanks Steve.